Connect with us


Formula 1: Barcelona GP: Mercedes celebrates double podium at Verstappen victory



The Mercedes star flashes again.

Max Verstappen (25) wins in the formula 1 at the Spanish Grand Prix – but the Silver Arrows are the winners of the day. The German team can celebrate its first double podium of the season thanks to second place for Lewis Hamilton (38) and third place for George Russell (25).

Both drivers show a top performance. While Hamilton drives confidently as usual, but has no chance against the overwhelming Red Bull from Verstappen, Russell grows beyond himself. The Brit, who started the race from twelfth place, races up nine place – the best of the day!

The reason for the performance explosion is an upgrade. The Formula 1 team of the luxury brand from Stuttgart had already brought a new version of the underbody, the side boxes and the diffuser to the car in Monaco.

While Hamilton and Russell’s ‘new’ company car didn’t (as to be expected) provide much impetus in the narrow streets of Monaco last week, the two Britons raced back towards success on the ‘real’ Barcelona racetrack.

Mercedes team boss Toto Wolff (51): “Last year we didn’t understand the car. That was also the case in the first races of this season. But now with the upgrade we have a new solid base to build on.”


Build up yes, attack Red Bull no. Mercedes has taken a step in the right direction – but the Brause racing team is still in a league of its own. Verstappen drives his 40th Formula 1 victory in Catalonia. And how!

The Dutchman is so fast that even his team is concerned. Because the two-time world champion had already driven too often over the barriers, he faces a penalty for another offense. However, Verstappen still wants to set the fastest race lap to earn an extra point in the World Championship. Despite the request of those responsible not to do so, the exceptional driver sets the best time with a 1:16.330 minute.

His team then radioed: “Can you please finish the race safely within the white lines?” Verstappen replies: “Yeah, yeah.” Proof of how ambitious the Dutchman is. And he easily wins the win…

Most expensive beer shower in history Leipzig professionals scrap PK technology

Source: SID/BILD


race result

1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

2. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

3. George Russell (Mercedes)

4. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)

5. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)

6. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)

7. Fernando Alonso (Aston Martin)


8. Esteban Ocon (Alpine)

9. Zhou Guanyu (Alfa Romeo)

10. Pierre Gasly (Alpine)

11. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)

12. Yuki Tsunoda (Alpha Tauri)

13. Oscar Piastri (McLaren)

14. Nyck de Vries (Alpha Tauri)


15. Nico Hulkenberg (Haas)

16. Alexander Albon (Williams)

17. Lando Norris (McLaren)

18. Kevin Magnussen (Haas)

19. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo)

20. Logan Sargeant (Williams)

Source: Asia Times


Follow us on Google News to get the latest Updates