Connect with us


Mandatory Evacuations Ordered in Florida as Nicole Nears; See County List Here



Tropical Storm Nicole is expected to hit Florida as a hurricane Wednesday night, inundating parts of the state with up to 5-foot storm surges and tearing down power lines and homes with sustained winds topping 70 mph.

While this storm certainly won’t bring the force of Ian, a category 4 hurricane, it is already impairing repair efforts — and stoking fresh concerns.

Mandatory evacuations have been ordered for a number of Sunshine state counties, and voluntary evacuations are in effect for others. Here’s a county-by-county breakdown as of Wednesday afternoon. You can also search your address here to find out which designated evacuation zone you are in. Get more on Nicole’s track and check warnings here.

Mandatory Evacuation Orders by County

These are the Florida counties under at least partial mandatory evacuation orders.

  • Flagler County: Evacuation orders take effect at 3:30 p.m. Wednesday for Zone A, barrier island; Mobile Homes and RV’s countywide; and those low-lying homes prone to flooding. Residents whose evacuation plan is to seek public shelter can go to Rymfire Elementary School. Be out by noon if you don’t plan to go. Check your zone.
  • Nassau County: Evacuations have been ordered for zones A&D
  • Palm Beach County: Mandatory evacuations for Zones A and B will be in effect Thursday at 7 a.m. This includes mobile homes, barrier islands and low-lying areas. Know your zone.
  • Volusia County: Mandatory evacuation order for all residences and businesses that are east of the Intracoastal Waterway; all manufactured and mobile home dwellers east of Interstate 95; all low-lying areas and other areas prone to flooding; and all campsites and RV recreational parks

Florida Counties Where Evacuations Are Advised

Voluntary evacuations are underway in the following counties. Check your local office for detailed information.

  • Brevard County
  • Clay County
  • Indian River County
  • Highlands County
  • Martin County
  • Putnam County
  • Seminole County
  • St. Johns County
  • St. Lucie County

Source: NBC New York


Follow us on Google News to get the latest Updates