Connect with us

Sport

Shearer slams ‘what a load of s***’ after after PSG’s ‘disgusting’ penalty

Published

on

NEWCASTLE were “robbed” of a win for the ages away to Paris Saint-Germain by a controversial penalty that legend Alan Shearer called “a load of s***”.

Eddie Howe’s travelling side led for much of the game thanks to Alexander Isak’s 24th minute opener.

Ousmane Dembele's flick bounced off Tino Livramento's chest and onto his elbow
The penalty was awarded after a VAR check

They looked on course for a famous win in the French capital, which would have put them second in their Champions League group stage.

But there was late drama in Paris when, deep into eight minutes of injury time, Ousmane Dembele’s flick bounced off Tino Livramento’s chest and onto his elbow.

Polish referee Szymon Marciniak – who officiated the 2022 World Cup final between Argentina and France and last season’s Champions League final – was unmoved and immediately waived play-on.

Advertisement

But play was halted by VAR and Marciniak was called over to his screen to watch slow-motion replays.

The clips clearly showed the ball bounce first off of Livramento’s chest which, in the Premier League, would not be deemed a penalty.

But Toon star and fans were soon left in agony as, astonishingly, the referee signalled he had changed his mind and awarded the spot-kick.

Kylian Mbappe lashed past Nick Pope to level the score.

It leaves Newcastle third in Group F and needing victory when AC Milan come to St James Park next month for any chance of progressing to the knockout stages.

Most read in Champions League

CASINO SPECIAL – BEST CASINO WELCOME OFFERS

Advertisement

A shocking decision from an elite referee, says Halsey

By Mark Halsey

IT is a shocker that could cost Newcastle a place in the Champions League last 16.

And it is so bad that Uefa’s refereeing chief Roberto Rosetti should come out and provide answers.

Szymon Marciniak has taken charge of World Cup and Champions League finals and an official of that calibre has to have the confidence to stick with his original decision.

Uefa’s own guidelines state “no handball offence should be called on a player if the ball has previously deflected from his own body and, in particular, when the ball does not go towards goal.”

Did both the VAR and Marciniak, who checked his decision on a pitchside monitor, miss the deflection off Tino Livramento’s chest?

It was similar to an earlier incident where the ball glanced off Lewis Miley’s leg onto his arm when no penalty was awarded.

Also Livramento was in close proximity to Ousmane Dembele for the PSG forward’s original cross which came at pace, his arm was in a natural position and it was not a deliberate act.

Advertisement

It is just a really poor intervention from VAR and a shocking decision from an elite referee. 

Until that point, the Polish official was having a good game.

However, a win for PSG against Borussia Dortmund would knock Newcastle out whatever their own result.

And legends of the game were left disgusted by the decision and none more so then Newcastle icon Shearer.

He posted: “Do me a f*****g favour man. What a load of s***.

“A superb battling away performance from every single player. Shouldn’t be spoilt by a disgusting decision. Well done.”

Shearer’s former strike partner Michael Owen added: “Heartbreaking for @NUFC. Such a good performance.

Advertisement

“Never in a million years is that a penalty. We are further away from applying consistency to the handball rule than we’ve ever been.”

Somehow, Newcastle manager Howe remained level-headed when probed by TNT’s Laura Woods post match.

What does the handball law say?

Referees and officials have three key considerations when decision on a handball offence.

  • Was it a “deliberate action” by the player – did they move their arm towards the ball?
  • Is the hand or arm in an “unnatural position” – was it away from the body?
  • How close was the player to the ball and was the speed of the ball too fast for them to avoid?

He said: “I’m still coming to terms with it. I feel really flat but at the same time really pleased with what the players gave today.

“Their commitment, execution. We rode our luck. We ran out of luck at the end. I didn’t think it was a penalty.

“What you don’t take into account with those replays is how quick the ball goes. It hits his chest first.

“If it hits his hands first, well it’s still not a penalty because he’s so close. But you can make more of a case.

If we’re giving penalty kicks for that in the biggest club competition on the planet, it’s a disgrace.

Ally McCoist

“It’s not a penalty when it hits his chest first and then hits his hand which is low.

Advertisement

“I’m not allowed to sum it up. I can’t say my inner thoughts obviously…

“I thought the referee was having a good game up until this moment. He had been strong.”

Pitch-side pundits Ally McCoist and Jermaine Jenas were far less diplomatic as they fumed over the decision.

Commentator McCoist said: “That is absolutely never a penalty.

“If we’re giving penalty kicks for that in the biggest club competition on the planet, it’s a disgrace.”

Ex-Newcastle midfielder Jenas added: “What is Livramento meant to do with his arms? Wrap them round his back? I’m fuming.

“The players threw everything at it and it should have been one of those historic wins. Newcastle have been robbed.”

Advertisement
Joelinton looks on in dejection

Source: The Sun

Follow us on Google News to get the latest Updates

Advertisement

Trending